UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar

Rosalind Russell/Ephraim P. Engleman Rheumatology Research Center Directors

Ephraim P. Engleman

Dr. Engleman received his M.D. from Columbia University in 1937. Following medical residencies at UCSF and Tufts University, he was a Fellow at the Massachusetts General Hospital where he received his training in rheumatology with Walter Bauer. He saw military service as a Major during World War II, serving as Chief of the Army’s Rheumatic Fever Center. In 1947, he joined the clinical faculty at UCSF and has continued at UCSF ever since. At UCSF he was President (and co-founder) of the Association of Clinical Faculty (1970-71), President of Executive Medical Board of the UC Hospital and Clinics, San Francisco (1973-74). He was Chief of Rheumatology at UCSF until 1982, and Chief of the Arthritis Clinic until 1988.

Over the past six decades, Dr. Engleman has had major national and international impact on rheumatology. In 1962-63 he was President of the American Rheumatism Association (ARA) – now the American College of Rheumatology (ACR); President of the National Society of Clinical Rheumatology (1967-69); President of the International League Against Rheumatism (1981-85). In the latter position he made several trips to mainland China and was influential in the creation of the Chinese Rheumatology Association. He also served as Chairman of the World Health Organization’s Task Force on Arthritis and on several committees of the National Institutes of Health.

In 1975-76 Dr. Engleman chaired the National Commission on Arthritis, a congressionally mandated task force charged with recommending remedies for the inadequate status of arthritis research, teaching and patient care in the United States. The National Arthritis Plan, which summarized the Commission’s recommendations, most of which were implemented, included epidemiologic investigations and national data systems in rheumatology, the creation of Multipurpose Arthritis Centers, the creation of what is now the National Institute of Arthritis, Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, and tripling of the ongoing federal budget for arthritis research. It also called attention to the surprising number of medical schools with no curriculum in rheumatology – a situation that changed quickly after the Plan’s publication.

In 1979, Dr. Engleman became founding Director of the Rosalind Russell/Ephraim P. Engleman Rheumatology Research Center at UCSF. He continues to serve as Director of the Center.

Some of Dr. Engleman’s additional honors are A Public Tribute by the Arthritis Foundation and American Rheumatism Association; honorary membership of the Arthritis Societies of Australia, China, France, Japan, Spain and Uruguay; Award for Distinguished Contributions to Clinical Programs at UCSF; Master of ACR; endowment of the Ephraim P. Engleman Distinguished Professorship in Rheumatology at UCSF; recipient of the Medal of Honor at UCSF, "the most prestigious award given by UCSF"; recipient of the Presidential Gold Medal Award of the American College of Rheumatology, the highest national honor in the field of rheumatology; and recipient of Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons Gold Medal for excellence in clinical medicine, the highest honor the school’s alumni association can bestow.

Dr. Engleman’s bibliography is in excess of 100 references. With Milton Silverman he co-authored “The Arthritis Book: A Guide for Patients and Their Families”. In addition, Dr. Engleman has served on the editorial boards of several journals including Arthritis and Rheumatism.

David Wofsy, MD

Dr. Wofsy received his undergraduate degree from Harvard (1968), his MD from the University of California, San Diego (1974), and his medical residency training and rheumatology fellowship training from the University of California, San Francisco. He joined the UCSF faculty in 1980. He currently is the Zimmermann Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology at UCSF, and the Associate Dean for Admissions for the UCSF School of Medicine. Dr. Wofsy is a past-President of the American College of Rheumatology. He has served on numerous NIH study sections, and on the Arthritis Advisory Committee of the Food and Drug Administration. Among his many honors, Dr. Wofsy is recipient of the Arthritis Hero Award and the Lee C. Howley Prize for Arthritis Research from the Arthritis Foundation, and the Edmund L. Dubois Award for outstanding research in systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) from the American College of Rheumatology.

Dr. Wofsy's research program is devoted to the development of novel therapies for autoimmune diseases, particularly SLE. For many years, his research focused on the cellular and molecular mechanisms that lead to autoimmunity. In the course of this work, he pioneered the use of monoclonal antibodies as potential therapeutic agents for rheumatic diseases. This innovative approach to treatment subsequently contributed to the development of new therapies for rheumatoid arthritis, juvenile arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, systemic vasculitis, and SLE. Dr. Wofsy now focuses his research on the conduct of clinical trials of new agents for the treatment of SLE. He is the founder and leader of the Lupus Nephritis Trials Network, an international network of clinicians and investigators who perform collaborative studies to improve the lives of people with the most severe forms of SLE.